Free the Annals: Together we did it!

On 15 May 2019, we announced the success of the Free the Annals initiative. This marks a permanent change to the way the world access Annals of the ICRP.  Once a publication has been available for two years, it will become free to download. This will take effect at the end of 2019, when all of issues up to 2017 (up to ICRP Publication 137) will be freely available to download. Those who need access to the very latest can maintain a subscription or buy individual issues.

Very many thanks to all the organisations and individuals listed below who contriubted to this success.

It's not too late for you to be part of this success! We will continue to accept pledges and contributions during the next few months, and the names of all supporters will be published in Annals of the ICRP as a form of lasting recognition.

Click the DONATE link below to show your continued support! If you prefer to contribute by bank transfer or cheque, please contact for more information.

See the Information Sheet and Frequently Asked Questions for further details.


ICRP is an international, independent registered charity, relying on voluntary contributions to support our work. Our ~250 expert members from more than 30 countries and all disciplines relevant to radiological protection volunteer their time to ICRP. Together we develop the System of Radiological Protection, which forms the basis of standards, legislation, guidance, programmes, and practice worldwide. This helps ensure that patients, workers, the public, and the environment are protected against detrimental effects of radiation exposure.



Supporting Organisations


Chinese Institute for Radiation Protection

Federal Authority for Nuclear Regulation, UAE (FANR)

United States Department of Energy (DOE)

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)


Chinese Society for Radiation Protection (CSRP)

German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety

National Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France

Health Canada (HC)

Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

American Academy of Health Physics (AAHP)

The Society for Radiological Protection (SRP)

Radiation Effects Association, Japan (REA)

International Radiation Protection Association (IRPA)

American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM)


Italian National Inspectoriate for Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection (ISIN)

Canadian Radiation Protection Association (CRPA)

Centre d’étude sur l’Evaluation de la Protection dans le domaine Nucléaire, France (CEPN)

Federal Agency for Nuclear Control, Belgium (FANC)

Société Française de Radioprotection, France (SFRP)

Italian Association Medical Physics (AIFM)

Italian Society of Medical and Interventional Radiology (SIRM)

International Organisation for Medical Physics (IOMP)

Ghana Association for Radiation Protection (GARP)


Israel Society for Radiation Protection



Nordic Society for Radiation Protection (NSFS)


Nordic Nuclear Safety Research (NKS)


South African Association of Physicists in Medicine and Biology (SAAPMB)

The National Centre for Radiation Protection, Delft University (Netherlands)


Spanish Radiation Protection Society (SEPR)


East Tennessee Chapter of the Health Physics Society (United States)


Spanish Society of Medical Physics


Radiation Protection Advice Ltd


Icelandic Radiation Safety Authority (GR)

ENUSA Industria Avanzandas, S.A., S.M.E. (ENUSA) Spain

Australasian Radiation Protection Association (ARPS)

South Pacific Environmental Radioactivity Association (SPERA)

RP Alba Ltd

Individual Supporters


Kimberly Applegate (United States)
Marie-Claire Cantone (Italy)
Kunwoo Cho (South Korea)
Christopher Clement (Canada)
Claire Cousins (United Kingdom)
Daniele Giuffrida (UAE)
John Harrison (United Kingdom)
Michiaki Kai (Japan)
Catrin Bauréus Koch (Sweden)
Jacques Lochard (France)
Werner Rühm (Germany)
Sergey Shinkarev (Russia)
UAE Dubai Team (UAE)

Fatima Al Kaabi (UAE)
Penelope Allisy (United Kingdom)
Eric Blanchardon (France)
Wesley Bolch (United States)
Josep M Martí Climent (Spain)
Donald A. Cool (United States)
Keith Eckerman (United States)
Nobuyuki Hamada (Japan)
Makoto Hosono (Japan)
Keon Wook Kang (South Korea)
Carl-Magnus Larsson (Australia)
Dominique Laurier (France)
Reinhard Loose (Germany)
Sigurður Magnússon (Iceland)
Yahong Mao (China)
Marvin Rosenstein (United States)
Michiya Sasaki (Japan)
Christian Streffer (Germany)
Jack Valentin (Sweden)
Eliseo Vano (Spain)

Meshary Alnuaimi (Kuwait)
Nobuhiko Ban (Japan)
Alistair Bell
Theocaris Berris
Simon Bouffler (United Kingdom)
Nicol Caplin (UK)
Roger Clarke (United Kingdom)
Kelsey Cloutier (Canada)
Michael Cowie (Saudi Arabia)
Eduardo Gallego Diaz (Spain)
Akira Endo (Japan)
Scott Foley
Hiroki Fujita (Japan)
Julian Ginniver (United Kingdom)
Jónína Guðjónsdóttir (Iceland)
Gael Hammer (Germany)
Naomi Harley (United States)
Marcia Hartman (United States)
Dan Hibbing (United States)
Toshihiro Higuchi (Japan)
Toshimitsu Homma (Japan)
Mark Hoover (United States)
Derek Jokisch (United States)
Lars Jødal (Denmark)
Alexandra Kamp (Germany)
Isao Kawaguchi (Japan)
Bob Kerr (United Kingdom)
Chan Hyeong Kim (Korea)
Leondios Kratzwald
Lynn Lemaire (Canada)
Chunsheng Li (Canada)
Stephen Long (Australia)
Maria Antonia Lopez (Spain)
Colin Martin (United Kingdom)
Nicole E Martinez (United States)
Patrick Mattera
Fred Mettler (United States)
Rock Neveau (United States)
Anne Nisbet (United Kingdom)
Jan Pentreath (United Kingdom)
Nina Petoussi-Heinss (Germany)
Karen Potts
Julian Preston (United States)
Robert Puckett (United States)
Juan Ocampo Ramos (Colombia)
Madan Rehani (United States)
Julie Reyjal (Canada)
Yasuhito Sasaki (Japan)
Tatsuhiko Sato (Japan)
Marcel Schouwenburg (Netherlands)
Thierry Schneider (France)
Samantha Sonter (Australia)
Cristian Sepuvelda Soza
Daniel J. Strom (United States)
David Sutton (United Kingdom)
John M Takala (Canada)
Phillip Thomas
Alexander Ulanowski (Germany)
Wong Pai Wai
Hanne Waltenburg (Denmark)
Erik Wåhlin (Sweden)
Robert Wilson (United Kingdom)


We are delighted to lead the way with a meaningful contribution towards making the Annals of the ICRP available for free, and in particular we are proud that Publication 103 is now available to everybody thanks to our contribution. Easy access will be a boon to governments, scientists, professionals, and interested citizens world-wide. Let’s take on this important initiative together.

- Christer Viktorsson, Director General, The UAE’s Federal Authority for Nuclear Regulation (FANR)

We are pleased to join other agencies and countries in ICRP’s efforts with our contribution towards making the Annals of the ICRP available for free; and, in particular, we are thrilled that Publication 103 will be available to everyone. Access will be a benefit to radiation protection professionals, scientists, and interested countries worldwide. Let us undertake this critical initiative together.

- Dr. Patricia R. Worthington, Director, Office of Health and Safety, United States Department of Energy

I see the Free the Annals initiative as transformational for our profession. Not only will we have easier access to the ICRP recommendations that are the foundation of our work, but other interested professionals, policy makers, and members of the public will also have free access. The IRPA Executive Council has already contributed to this cause, knowing that this change will have a very positive global impact on our profession, in perpetuity. I also strongly urge each IRPA Associate Society to seriously consider supporting this initiative. Contributions from many Associate Societies, large or small, will send a strong message that this is worth supporting.

- Roger Coates, President, International Radiation Protection Association