Register for Updates | Search | Contacts | Site Map | Member Login


Committee 3
Protection in Medicine

Committee 3 is concerned with protection of persons and unborn children when ionising radiation is used for medical diagnosis, therapy, or for biomedical research; also, assessment of the medical consequences of accidental exposures.

Committee 3 in Seoul, October 2016 – From left to right back: Ola Holmberg (IAEA representative), Sandor Demeter, Colin Martin, Katrine Åhlström Riklund, Pierre Scalliet, Keon Kang, Michel Bourguignon and Reinhard Loose. From left to right front: Baorong Yue, Pedro Ortiz-López, Madan Rehani (Secretary), Eliseo Vañó (Chair), Donald Miller (Vice-Chair), Kimberly Applegate, Pek-Lan Khong. Inset: Yoshiharu Yonekura, Lawrence Dauer.

Summaries of Committee 3 Meetings:


Professor Eliseo Vano 
Complutense University, Spain
Curriculum Vitae


Dr Donald L. Miller 
Center for Devices and Radiological Health Food and Drug Administration, USA
Curriculum Vitae


Professor Madan M. Rehani 
Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital , USA
Curriculum Vitae


Professor Kimberly E. Applegate  
University of Kentucky, USA
Curriculum Vitae

Telephone and E-mail (Office)
Professor Michel Bourguignon 
French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Curriculum Vitae
Dr Lawrence T. Dauer 
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center , USA
Sandor Demeter 
University of Manitoba, Canada

Telephone and E-mail (Office)
Keon Kang 
Seoul National University, Korea
Curriculum Vitae
Professor ┼hlstr÷m Riklund Katrine 
Ume, Sweden
Professor Pek-Lan Khong 
The University of Hong Kong, China
Curriculum Vitae
Professor Reinhard Loose 
Hospital Nuremberg, Germany
Curriculum Vitae
Dr Pedro Ortiz Lopez 
Dr Colin Martin 
University of Glasgow, UK
Curriculum Vitae
Pierre Scalliet 
UniversitÚ Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Dr Yoshiharu Yonekura 
National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology, Japan
Curriculum Vitae
Professor Baorong Yue 
Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, China