Task Group 96
Computational Phantoms and Radiation Transport

A Taskgroup under Committee 2

The mandate for this Task Group – Computational Phantoms and Radiation Transport – is focused on similar activities for updating the ICRP Public Series of reports to include internal dose coefficients to children and to the embryo and fetus following intakes by the adult pregnant female. 

Specific work includes

  1. development of reference voxel phantoms representing the ICRP 89 defined male and female newborn, 1-year-old, 5-year-old, 10-year-old, and 15-year-old, 
  2. use of these pediatric reference phantoms to established reference values of specific absorbed fractions to support the INDOS public exposure document series (replacing ICRP Publications 56, 67, 71, and 72), 
  3. development of corresponding models of the adult pregnant female and her developing embryo/fetus, and 
  4. use of these phantoms to calculate reference values of specific absorbed fraction to support the INDOS public exposure document series (replacing ICRP Publications 88 and 95).

The assessment of reference dose coefficients for external exposure of children and the adult pregnant women is the responsibility of Committee 2 Task Group 90 - Age-dependent Dose Conversion Coefficients for External Exposures to Environmental Sources.

Symposium on Radiological Protection Dosimetry 18 Feb 2016

Wesley E. Bolch (Chair), University of Florida, USA
John G.S. Hunt (Member), The Instituto de Radioproteção e Dosimetria, Brazil
Derek Jokisch (Member), Francis Marion University, USA
Chan Hyeong Kim (Member), Hanyang University, Korea
Choonsik Lee (Member), National Cancer Institute, USA
Nina Petoussi-Henss (Member), Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany
Tatsuhiko Sato (Member), Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA), Japan
Maria Zankl (Member), Helmholtz Zentrum München , Germany
Keith Eckerman (Corresponding Member), Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), USA
Kwang Pyo Kim (Corresponding Member), Kyung Hee University, Korea
Junli Li (Corresponding Member), Tsinghua University, China
Helmut Schlattl (Corresponding Member), Helmholtz Zentrum München , Germany
Yeon Soo Yeom (Corresponding Member), National Cancer Institute, USA