Committee 1
Radiation Effects

Committee 1 considers the risk of induction of cancer and heritable disease (stochastic effects) together with the underlying mechanisms of radiation action; also, the risks, severity, and mechanisms of induction of tissue/organ damage and developmental defects (deterministic effects).

click to enlarge

Back Row (L-R): Kotaro Ozasa (Japan), Kazuo Sakai (Japan), Andrzej Wojcik (Vice Chair, Sweden), Michael Hauptmann (Netherlands), Richard Wakeford (United Kingdom)
Front Row (L-R): Tamara Azizova (Russia), Gayle Woloschak (United States), Werner Ruhm (Chair, Germany), Jacqueline Garnier-Lapace (Secretary, France), Sisko Salomaa (Finland), Dan Stram (United States), Quanfu Sun (China), Mikhail Sokolnikov (Russia)

Summaries of Committee 1 Meetings:

Werner Rühm (Chair), Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany
Andrzej Wojcik (Vice-Chair), Centre for Radiation Protection Research, Stockholm University, Sweden
Jacqueline Garnier-Laplace (Secretary), Institute for Radioprotection and Nuclear Safety - IRSN, France
Tamara Azizova (Member), Southern Urals Biophysics Institute, Russian Federation
Wolfgang Dörr (Member), Med. Univ. Vienna, Dept. Radiotherapy/RadOnc, ATRAB - Applied and Translational Radiobiology, Austria
Michael Hauptmann (Member), Netherlands Cancer Institute, Netherlands
Kotaro Ozasa (Member), Radiation Effects Research Foundation, Japan
Preetha Rajaraman (Member), India
Kazuo Sakai (Member), Tokyo Healthcare University, Japan
Sisko Salomaa (Member), Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland
Mikhail Sokolnikov (Member), Southern Ural Biophysics Institute, Russian Federation
Dan Stram (Member), University of Southern California, USA
Quanfu Sun (Member), National Institute for Radiological Protection, China
Richard Wakeford (Member), The University of Manchester, UK
Gayle Woloschak (Member), Northwestern University, USA