Task Group 112
Emergency Dosimetry

A Task Group under Committee 2


The current ICRP dosimetry system is focused mainly on situations in which doses and associated radiological risks are low and the primary objectives are optimisation of protection against stochastic health effects and demonstration of compliance with regulatory requirements. The central quantity used is effective dose and ICRP effective dose coefficients are used internationally in the control of radiation exposures at low doses. Although dose limits (equivalent dose) are also set to prevent tissue reactions, the requirements for dosimetric assessments during emergencies have not been addressed in any detail. Nuclear or radiological emergencies are relatively rare but, when they occur, emergency workers, first responders and the general public may receive significant external and internal exposures from a range of radionuclides. Radiological assessment and protective actions need to be implemented promptly to mitigate the impact on human health. A methodology for the quantitative description of exposures is among the essential elements of emergency management systems.

The goal of the Task Group is to develop reference methodologies and datasets that would expand the current dosimetry system of the ICRP for performing radiological assessments in emergency exposure situations. An expanded dosimetry system will consider both stochastic effects and harmful tissue reactions, situation-specific conditions (e.g. contamination of wounds, thyroid blocking or DTPA treatment), and individual- or group-specific characteristics (e.g. iodine-deficient diet in the affected region). Standard estimates of effective dose will be complemented by more detailed individualised assessments of absorbed doses/absorbed dose rates in organ and tissues of individuals of various ages.

Volodymyr Berkovskyy (Chair), Ukrainian Radiation Protection Institute (RPI) and National Research Center for Radiation Medicine (NRCRM), Ukraine
Luiz Bertelli (Member), Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
Eric Blanchardon (Corresponding Member), French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN), France
Bastian Breustedt (Corresponding Member), Karlsruhe Institue of Technology (KIT), Germany
Demetrio Gregoratto (Corresponding Member), PHE, UK
John G.S Hunt (Member), The Instituto de Radioproteo e Dosimetria, Brazil
Catrin Baureus Koch (Corresponding Member), OKG NPP, Sweden
Maria Antonia Lopez (Corresponding Member), CIEMAT, Spain
James W Marsh (Member), Health Protection Agency (HPA), UK
Dunstana Melo (Corresponding Member), Melohill Technology, USA
Genadij Ratia (Corresponding Member), RPI, Ukraine
Kotaro Tani (Corresponding Member), Japan
Minoru Tanigaki (Corresponding Member), Japan
Alexander Ulanowski (Member), International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria